2LeggedSpider

Microsoft Surface

Posted in Microsoft, technology by Sumit Thomas on June 5, 2007

Microsoft’s experiments with portable devices has been as successful as India in the recent World cup cricket. Take for instance Zune, the iPod killer. I think by claiming it as an iPod killer they are indirectly giving a free advertisement for iPod and growing list of Apple products. I sometimes feel that Microsoft should stick to software and try focusing on making bug free products. The fact that Vista holds some features that were available in OS X is kind of becoming an embarrasment for many Microsoft product users, like me. I don’t even want to talk about it.

With Surface, I think Microsoft has got its head right as to how future computing should look like. Its definetely mind-blowing and very exciting. I am not sure if I will be able to get my hands on this baby but I am excited with the way technology is progressing in terms of user iteraction and experience with computers. Surface will definetely be a killer app for sure.

Having said that, I remember seeing a Video on Jeff Han’s Multi-touch sensing, which works on a similar concept. It’s good to see Microsoft embrassing this technology. Surface looks more refined and the number of possibilities seems endless. Its good to see that one day we will move away from Click Start -> All Programs computing 😉

Technorati:
Tagged with: ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nishanth said, on August 6, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    Now they are concentrating on public venues, its very costlty for single users. I think microsoft should release a lite version 🙂


Leave a Reply

